Press and Reviews

Reviews of My Writing

February 2014 – “CL3ANS3 took me by surprise. Primarily, because this is one of those stories that make excellent material for experimental animation short films that have this rarely-seen alienating feeling to them. The world outlined by Carrie Cuinn in this short story is clinical, sterilized and strange beyond belief. Its main character might be an antisocial, objective narrator but the rest of the people occupying the setting aren’t all that better off. This story forced me to do a double-take to pinpoint exactly what bothered me about it so much and guess what: it’s not the Lovecraftian Horrors, not in and of themselves. I think that this was perhaps the point that Cuinn was trying to make: the scary, strange future that waits just around the corner, its people distant and antisocial, scared more of each other than the things lurking just beyond the world.” - Konstantine Paradias

February 2014 – ““CL3ANS3” by Carrie Cuinn: This story has a really cool concept about a future where all data has to be organized and that organization is done through a kind of virtual reality (it is cyberpunk after all). Carrie Cuinn does a great job of building a great world of CHARACTERS here, like Orson Scott Card did in Ender’s Game (yeah, the guy’s politics suck but he can write some amazing characters). I bring up ‘Ender’ because there are scenes in the story where the protagonist sits down and interacts with other ‘sorters’ in a kind of cafeteria and it just has this realistic feeling to it. The writing is very solid and when the virtual world starts to become tainted by Eldritch happenings the story delivers.” – D. Anderson

January 30, 2014 – “CL3ANS3 is a beautiful story” and “Cuinn’s voice and the picture she was able to weave inside my mind was absolutely amazing, her prose was top-notch.” – MU Podcast

September 12, 2013 – “Despite its short length there is a wealth of stories here and when I sat down to write my review and pick my favourite stories to talk about, I had a really hard time, because every time I’d change my mind.” – A Fantastical Librarian, about Women and Other Constructs.

July 27, 2013 – “This was my first time picking up anything by Carrie Cuinn and I must say I was very impressed by her simplistic style which can still portray so much. The stories included in the anthology show a great range of ability and talent in multiple genres.” – Goodreads review of Women and Other Constructs.

July 12, 2013 – “Women and Other Constructs is a varied, powerful collection of stories that showcases the range and talent of an author who will hopefully continue to rise in exposure in the SFF community.  Her work demonstrates that the short fiction format, particularly in SF/F/H can be a vessel that contains effective plotting, strong characterization, and worthwhile examination of important topics while still being highly entertaining.  This collection is not light, by any means, conversely it is not heavy to the point of getting in the way of good storytelling.  The stories Carrie Cuinn includes in this volume show that “thought-provoking” need not mean “inaccessible” to the average reader.” Short Fiction Friday (SF Signal), Carl V. Anderson

October 10, 2012 – “I had no idea where this story was going when I started, but I loved where it ended up. Funny and touching.” My Favorite Fiction from September 2012, K. Tempest Bradford, talking about “Mrs. Henderson’s Cemetery Dance”.

November 11, 2011 – “This is a great example of a traditional flash fiction structure where a bit of information revealed at the end adjusts the reader’s interpretation of the rest of the story. ” Michael Haynes, “Dissecting the Short Story: Call Center Blues

Feb 14, 2011 – “Carrie Cuinn does something unconventional in “Mitch’s Girl”, which just proves how diverse sex can be after death, ’cause humans certainly are ingenious in their lust.” Innsmouth Free Press

Jan 1, 2011 – “Mitch’s Girl, by Carrie Cuinn, was a gem that stood out amongst the other stories.” Review of RIGOR AMORTIS at Rise Reviews

Reviews of Collections I’ve Edited

FISH

February 16, 2013 – “Cuinn doesn’t edit, but rather throws herself with such abandon in her vision as to how her anthologies ought to look, feel and be, the finished product has its own gravitational pull and it won’t let go until you’ve read the last page.” The Alternative Typewriter

IN SITU

November 20, 2012 – “In Situ is an interesting and thought-provoking anthology. It is a very enjoyable collection of stories and well put together.” A Fantastical Librarian

November 19, 2012 – “All the stories in In Situ are solid, quick-paced reads. There are no clunkers.” SF Signal

Cthulhurotica

October 21, 2011 – “I also applaud Cuinn for selecting a large number of female authors and authors from different culture backgrounds, both sorely needed in the Lovecraftverse.” This Book and I Could Be Friends

September 1, 2011 – “Carrie Cuinn has assembled short stories that are not merely about monsters having sex, though more than a couple do feature some remarkably … unusual intimate encounters.” Wag the Fox

May 12, 2011 – “We must also point out the solid intro by editor Carrie Cuinn. This is a project that in other hands could have become grotesque literary hentai, instead she guides the work with a keen eye and sense of pace.” Boston Book Bums

May 6, 2011 – “Cthulhurotica is as close as I’ve seen to adult Mythos fiction done right.” Yog-Sothoth

April 26, 2011 – “I would like to go on record as to say Cthulhurotica may well be the first great original Mythos story collection of the 21st Century. Read it!” J. Keith Haney, Innsmouth Free Press

Feb 14, 2011 – “In short, Cthulhurotica is one of the best anthologies I’ve read in awhile.” Rise Reviews

Feb 13, 2011 – “I offer my applause to Dagan Books for its choices of stories to include.” 4 out of 5 stars, Opinions of a Wolf

Interviews

September 12, 2013 – interview at Fantasy Scroll about writing, editing, and reading as a writer.

July 6, 2013 – “An Interview with Carrie Cuinn” about Women and Other Constructs, by AC Wise

May 24, 2013 – “Exclusive Interview: Carrie Cuinn on Fish” by Charles Tan, for SF Signal

September 2, 2012 – “Mrs. Henderson’s Cemetery Dance” author interview at Red Penny Papers

March 1, 2012 – “All The Right Words” author interview at Goldfish Grimm

November 21, 2011 – Talking about “Call Center Blues” with Micheal Haynes

March 15, 2011 – Cthulhurotica, editing, weird plushies, and more, Functional Nerds (podcast, with Don Pizarro)

Feb 12, 2011 – “Shiver and Sighs Week”, Romance, Monsters, and Cthulhurotica, Innsmouth Free Press

July 26, 2010 – Cthulhurotica, Innsmouth Free Press

Aug 11, 2010 - Cthulhurotica, Lovecraft, and more, Writer’s News Weekly

Profiles

July 1, 2013 – “People You Should Be Reading: Carrie Cuinn” by Eric Christensen

April 9, 2013 – “[Women in Genre, Day 9] Carrie Cuinn and Dark Wonders” by Haralambi Markov